2014 Junior Winner

Posted in News & Media

Nicole vdm 2014
Junior athlete Nicole van der Merwe has taken on the 2014 SPAR Women's Grand Prix Series. Nicole was initially not awarded the 1st junior category prize at the Durban event, but following a successful appeal, the Jury of Appeal reinstated her as the 1st Junior runner in a time of 35:27. At age 15, she was 8th overall in the 10km event making her a big contender for future years.
Nicole was 9th overall and the 1st Junior at the Pretoria SPAR Women's 10km held on Sunday, 30 August 2014.


2014 won by Lebogang Phalula

Posted in News & Media

Media Release
Lebogang Phalula races to victory in 25th Durban SPAR Women’s 10km 

Durban at its best, Lebogang Phalula claimed a dramatic and sensational victory in the 25th Durban SPAR Women’s 10km race today (Sunday) in a time of 33.06.


Crossing the line in tears of joy, the Soweto-based runner collapsed on her knees after winning, completely overwhelmed by her victory.

On a picture perfect warm Spring morning, with a slight breeze, the elite runners started off in a pacey fashion, with race favourite Irvette Van Zyl blazing a trail in the lead and Phalula and Mapaseka Makhanya close behind with Phalula’s twin Diana hot on their heels. But in the end it was Lebogang Phalula taking the honours, and last year’s second place Rutendo Nyahora  shaving off 14 seconds from her time, and Rene Kalmer coming in third position.


2014 Race Day Notes

Posted in General Information

10 km starts at 08:00
in Masabalala Yengwa Avenue (formerly NMR Avenue) close to the new station.

5 km starts at 09:00
in Masabalala Yengwa Avenue (formerly NMR Avenue) near the Standard Bank building.

Race RESULTS can be found by clinking on the RESULTS tab above.

Race photographs can be found at the RESULTS, but please allow Jetline Action Photo a few days to process the thousands of photographs.

No entries will be taken on race day.


2014 Parking Options

Posted in General Information

Where can I park?
  1. The International Convention Centre (ICC) (undercover) - recommended access on Bram Fischer Road. (400 metres)
  2. Centrum Parking (opposite the Durban Exhibition Centre) (open) - recommended access via Samora Machel Street. (350 metres)
  3. The Workshop (undercover and open) - recommended access from Samora Machel Street. (620 metres)
  4. Suncoast recommended access from Sandile Thusi (Argyle Road) then left into Sylvester Ntuli (Brickhill Road extension) (1.8 km)
  5. Alternatively you can park along the beachfront.
NOTE - Each of these parking areas has their own fee structure and are not contracted to the event.

There are NO shuttle services so we recommend that you treat these as warm-up walk/runs.

Check your 2014 Race Number

Posted in General Information

Race numbers for the 2014 Durban SPAR Women's 10/5km Race have now been allocated to all successful BULK and ONLINE entries. Go to the 2014 RESULTS link, type in your surname and click SEARCH.

Please keep this race number handy as you will need it to collect your Race Pack, Goodie Bag & T-shirt from Suncoast.
Thursday 21 August 2014 10:00 to 17:00
Friday 22 August 2014 10:00 to 17:00
Saturday 23 August 2014 10:00 to 15:00

Bulk entrants will NOT need to collect as sponsors TIME FREIGHT will deliver your Race Pack, Goodie Bag & T-shirt to your team co-ordinator.