Glenrose Xaba (Boxer) has moved clear of the chasing pack in the race for the 2018 SPAR Grand Prix title, after winning the Pretoria SPAR Women’s 10km Challenge at the weekend.


Xaba’s winning time of 33.56 minutes earned her 10 bonus points, putting her 14 points ahead of her nearest rival, Kesa Molotsane (KPMG). Xaba, who finished second in Cape Town, Port Elizabeth and Durban, has a total of 87 points. Defending champion Molotsane, who won in Cape Town and Port Elizabeth, but finished sixth in Durban and third in Pretoria, has 73 points.  


Xaba was the first runner in the senior section to earn valuable bonus points, and this puts her in poll position to win the Grand Prix title and pocket a cheque for R185 000.


Two Nedbank runners, Rudo Mhonderwa and Rutendo Nyahora, are in third and fourth positions, with 66 and 60 points respectively. Mhonderwa’s strong position is proof of the importance of consistency in the SPAR Challenge series – she finished fourth in the first three races and sixth in Pretoria.   Nyahora’s second place on Saturday saw her leapfrogging a number of runners, as she moved from eighth place to fourth.


Three times Grand Prix winner Irvette van Zyl (Nedbank), who stunned everyone by finishing fourth on Saturday, eight weeks to the day after giving birth to her second son, moved from 15th place to 11th, with a total of 35 points.


There are two more races in this year’s SPAR Challenge series, in Pietermaritzburg on August 19 and in Johannesburg on October 7.  


With five runners finishing in the top 10 in Pretoria, Nedbank has moved from third to first place in the club competition, with 326 points. KPMG are in second place, with 290 points, one point ahead of Boxer.