Tadu Nare wins in Durban

Durban SPAR Women’s 10/5km Challenge

Powering to victory, Tadu Nare does it again, winning the Durban SPAR Women’s 10km Challenge in superb conditions on Sunday 23 June.

The Nedbank runner hailing from Ethiopia steamed ahead of second placed, Glenrose Xaba from South Africa. With back-to-back Durban victories, this is the fourth year in a row that Nare claimed the win, improving each year in her time. She finished in an impressive time of 31:14 this year, shaving 12 seconds off from her 2023 winning time. The petite Ethiopian racked up times of 32:07 in 2021; 31:50 in 2022 and 31:26 in 2023. Xaba ran a sub-32, finishing in a time of 31:57.

Nare looked fresh for the entire 10km, gliding across the finish line effortlessly. She waited until the 7km mark until she shifted gears, dropping Xaba who had worked hard to stay on her shoulder. Nare said after her win, ‘It was a wonderful race, I am impressed with the core runners, how much they have improved. Running neck and neck with Glenrose for most of the race was a fantastic surprise.’

The Durban route, renowned for being fast and flat, with not too many bends, did not disappoint. Nare stylishly ran the fastest time since Namibia’s Helalia Johannes broke the record in 2019, in a time of 30.58. The runners had a bit of a head wind as they turned south after Blue Lagoon, running 3km along the picturesque beach front, with a light breeze in their face.

Xaba complimented Nare’s run, sharing ‘I was thankful to stay with Tadu until the 7km mark. She pushes us to get better. My run went according to plan, and I felt strong. I didn’t run a PB today, but I was very happy with my performance.’

The duo are now both vying for the overall Grand Prix title, sharing one win each in the five race series, as Nare missed the Cape Town race due to injury.

A field of 9,653 participants enjoyed the perfect winter’s morning. Following the successful Durban race, residents in the capital city can enjoy their turn with the Maritzburg SPAR Women’s 10/5km Challenge taking place on Sunday 18 August.

Durban’s official race charity, Sinethemba Women’s Foundation, received a cheque for a whopping R100,000 at the prize giving. Based in Inanda, the foundation’s core focus aligns with SPAR’s strong national stance against Gender Based Violence. The money donated will go to support women and the young people in their area to achieve their full potential.



1 Tadu Nare (Nedbank) 31:14, 2 Glenrose Xaba (Boxer) 31:57, 3 Neheng Khatala (Hollywood) 32:14, 4 Blandina Makatisi (Maxed Elite) 32:33, 5 Diniya Abaraya (Nedbank) 32:40, 6 Irvette van Zyl (Hollywood) 33:10, 7 Ayantu Terefe (Nedbank) 33:12, 8 Cacisile Sosibo (Boxer) 33:32, 9 Karabo Mailula (Tuks) 33:58, 10 Malineo Mahloko (Maxed Elite) 34:35


Juniors: (U-20):

1 Diniya Abaraya (Nedbank) 32:40, 2 Anele Ndawonde (Umzimkhulu) 38:33, 3 Ngubo Inganathi (Umzimkhulu) 40:10



1 Lebo Phalula-Mzazi (Boxer) 34:50, 2 Lebogang Phalula-Luthuli (Boxer) 35:21, 3 Fikile Mbuthuma (Phantane) 38:54


Masters: (50-59):

1 Elizabeth Potter (Boxer) 40:21, 2 Anne Stewart (Atlantic) 40:42, 3 Ronel Thomas (Boxer) 40:54


Grandmasters: (60-69):

1 Judy Bird (Boxer) 41:05, 2 Grace de Oliveira (Maxed Elite) 45:06, 3 Karen Brough (Boxer) 45:55